Museum Munich - Route

Munich's intellectual center

The "Museum Munich - Route" takes us to the Kunstareal, from the Karolinenplatz to the Lenbachhaus, to the Pinakotheken, the Museum Brandhorst, the Museum of Egyptian Art and ends in the student quarter.

Video in: - english - French - Italian - español -

Route description Museum Munich - Tour

With its numerous sights and collections of art and paintings, the Kunstareal forms the intellectual heart of Munich. At the end of the tour we treat ourselves to a short walk through the lively university quarter. We start our tour on Odeonsplatz.

From Odeonsplatz you walk and continue straight through Briennerstrasse. Soon you will recognize the obelisk on Karolinenplatz.

On the 18. October 1833, the anniversary of the Battle of Leipzig at 1813, the obelisk was unveiled in the middle of the Karolinenplatzes solemnly. Bayern supported the Napoleon opponents Russia, Austria, Prussia, Sweden and England 1812 to1813 with over 30.000 soldiers. The soldiers had to pay loyalty to their lives. The Brienner Straße and the Barer Straße, which cross the square, are named after places of battles of the liberation wars against Napoléon.

The Briennerstrasse continues straight ahead, it comes directly to Königsplatz.

For me he is one of the most beautiful places in Munich. In fast-forward, it goes through the classic Greek architectural styles. The Propylaea on the west side of the square are decorated in the Doric style. Coming from Karolinenplatz, you can see the mighty gatehouse first. To the right of this we can see the Glyptothek in the Ionian and exactly opposite the collection of Antiquities in Corinthian style. This enthusiasm for Greece is essentially due to the Bavarian prince Otto the First. He was sitting on the Greek throne from 1832 to 1862. Today, the modern lifestyle dominates here - sunbathing, outdoor cinema and numerous concerts characterize the image of the square in the summer months.

We go through the archways of the Propyläen and recognize right, a little hidden in the garden, the Lenbachhaus.

The Lenbachhaus houses, among other things, the world's largest collection of "Blue Riders". This group of artists included such famous painters as Franz Marc, Wassily Kandinsky, August Macke, Paul Klee or Gabriele Münter.

Gabriele Münter left 1957 on her 80. Birthday the Lenbachhaus 25 own paintings, 90 oil paintings of her husband Wassily Kandinsky, about 330 of his watercolors and drawings, his sketchbooks, reverse glass paintings and prints and numerous works on paper. In addition, she bequeathed to the Lenbachhaus works by August Macke and Marianne von Werefkin.

In addition to this magnificent collection, the Lenbachhaus houses the collection "19. Century". Originally, the gallery showed mainly works of Munich painting from the 19. Century and the German art of the early 20. Century.

The "New Objectivity" collection is dedicated to art after the First World War. For the painters in the 20er and 30er years, in contrast to the previous expressionism, the sober and realistic representation prevails.

[read more = "read more" less = "read less"]

We continue straight ahead to Gabelsbergerstrasse, where we turn right. We cross the Arcísstrasse and see the new building of the State Museum of Egyptian Artt.

1.800 square meters show exhibits from almost 5.000 years of Egyptian history. The museum shares the modern building with the College of Film and Television.

The exhibition, which for reasons of conservation is located in the basement, is divided into two main sections. The first is dedicated to Egyptian sculptures and presents similar exhibits side by side, regardless of their time of origin. I was most impressed by the 5,80 m high obelisk of Titus Sextius Africanus.

The second part of the collection is devoted to the themes of the hereafter faith, religion, writing and text, arts and crafts and ends with art of neighboring regions, Nubia and the Ancient Near East.

On the other side of the street you can see the New Pinakothek gallery.

Here we find almost 400 works of European art from the late 18., The entire 19. and the beginning of the 20. Century. Thus, the collection spans an arc from the Enlightenment to the modern age. The most famous exhibits are certainly Van Gogh's sunflowers, Spitzwegs Armer Poet, the triumphal procession of Germanicus with impressive 35 square meter canvas and not to mention Louis 1. in full regalia.


To get to the old Pinakothek, we go back a little to the Arcisstrasse, in which we turn right. After a few meters we pass the main entrance of the Technical University of Munich. It is definitely worth a detour to Café Vorhoelzer. Just enter the university building, follow the signage Forum and take the elevator to the top floor. Café Vorhoelzer impresses with its large terrace, which gives us a wonderful view over the rooftops of Munich - and in good weather all the way to the Alps. Although the café is no longer a secret, the international mix of students and tourists has developed its own charm.

But back to the old Pinakothek, She is one of the most important picture galleries in the world and shows us more than 700 significant works of European painting from the 14. until the 18. Century. Here we find paintings by Dürer, Rembrandt, Altdorfer. Boticelli, da Vinci, Rubens, Titian and Raphael.

Between the old and the new Pinakothek we go back to Barerstrasse. Only a few meters to the left and us already falls Pinakothek der Moderne in the eye.

It is one of Munich's biggest attractions and, with its 4 museums and 12.000 square meters of exhibition space, is one of the most famous exhibition halls in the world.
Even the building is worth a visit. In the entrance, the rotunda impresses with a glass dome in 25 m height. From here, the tours are divided into the four museums, in detail

The Bavarian State Painting Collection
The New Collection of the Munich Design Museum
The Architecture Museum of the Technical University of Munich
and
The State Graphic Collection

We continue on the forecourt of the Pinakothek towards Türkenstrasse. At the end of the square we see to our left the impressive building of the Museum Brandhorst and right in front of us Türkentor.

Here we find a remarkable sculpture by the American artist Walter De Maria. The 25 Tons heavy red-shining granite ball "Large Red Sphere" belongs to the Foundation Udo and Anette Brandhorst

The meeting of the historical building fabric with the round and high-gloss sculpture unfolds its very own aesthetics. By the way, the visit to the Türkentor is free.

Already we are at the last station in the Kunstareal, the Museum Brandhorst, arrived.

The eye-catching colorful building houses over 700 works by contemporary artists such as Cy Twombly, Damien Hirst or Andy Warhol

The focal point of the Museum Brandhorst is the work of the American Cy Twombly. His works characterized abstract expressionism. The extensive Cy Twombly collection is considered unique and most significant outside the United States.
Together with the Pinakothek der Moderne we find here a comprehensive collection of artists of the 20. and 21. Century.

At the end of our tour in the art area we dive a bit into the university district and roam the Theresienstrasse, Turks, Amalien- and Schellingstrasse with its numerous cafes, restaurants and small shops.

At the end of Schellingstrasse we see the Ludwigskirche and the subway station "Universität".
[/ read]

Eating and drinking in the university and museum district
cooks

My favorites

  • Hans im Glück
    one of the best burger shops in the city

    ___________________________________________

  • The cafes in the museums are invariably recommended
    mostly with a nice terrace and a pleasant ambience

    ___________________________________________

  • Café Vorhoelzer
    In the building of the technical university.
    Take the elevator up to the roof. Not easy to find
    but the view on the roof terrace is worth it.

    ___________________________________________

  • Café Puck
    A popular meeting place in the Türkenstrasse.
    Great breakfast. Make sure to book on Sundays.

    ___________________________________________

  • Ballabeni ice cream
    If you feel like having the best ice cream in the city, Ballabeni is the place to go.
    You recognize the small ice kiosk by the long line in front of the door.

    ___________________________________________

  • Max-Emanuel brewery
    a green oasis in Maxvorstadt

Map of the sights

To find an individual route, click on your destination

Further route suggestions from the category "Munich walking tour

Museum Munich - Königsplatz
Eisbach English Garden 2
Zoo Hellabrunn
Sibling-scholl-Platz-Platz Munich on foot

I'm looking forward for comments

0 Comments

Your comment

Participate in discussion?
Leave us your comment!

Leave a Comment

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked with * .

Click here to add your own text

Museum München – Route

Münchens intellektuelles Zentrum

Die “Museum München – Route” führt uns ins Kunstareal, vom Karolinenplatz zum Lenbachhaus, zu den Pinakotheken, dem Museum Brandhorst, dem Museum für ägyptische Kunst und endet im Studentenviertel.

Video in: –  english  –   français  –   italiano  –  español  –

Routenbeschreibung Museum München – Tour

Mit seinen zahlreichen Sehenswürdigkeiten und Kunst- und Gemäldesammlungen bildet das Kunstareal das intellektuelle Herz Münchens. Zum Abschluss der Tour gönnen wir uns noch einen kleinen Spaziergang durch das belebte Universitätsviertel. Wir beginnen unsere Tour am Odeonsplatz.

Vom Odeonsplatz aus geht Ihr zu Fuß und immer geradeaus durch die Briennerstrasse. Schon bald erkennt Ihr den Obelisken am Karolinenplatz.

Am 18. Oktober 1833, dem Jahrestag der Völkerschlacht bei Leipzig von 1813, wurde der Obelisk inmitten des Karolinenplatzes feierlich enthüllt. Bayern unterstützte die Napoleon-Gegner Russland, Österreich, Preußen, Schweden und England 1812 bis1813 mit über 30.000 Soldaten. Die Soldaten mussten die Bündnistreue mit Ihrem Leben bezahlen. Die Brienner Straße und die Barer Straße, die den Platz kreuzen, sind nach Orten von Schlachten der Befreiungskriege gegen Napoléon benannt.

Die Briennerstrasse weiter geradeaus kommt ihr unmittelbar zum Königsplatz.

Für mich ist er einer der schönsten Orte in München. Im Schnelldurchlauf geht es hier durch die klassisch-griechischen Baustile. Die Propyläen auf der Westseite des Platzes sind im dorischen Stil gehalten. Vom Karolinenplatz kommend, erkennt man als erstes den mächtigen Torbau. Rechts davon sehen wir die Glyptothek im ionischen und genau gegenüber die Antikensammlung im korinthischen Stil. Diese Griechenlandbegeisterung ist im wesentlichen auf den bayrischen Prinzen Otto der erste zurückzuführen. Der saß nämlich von 1832 bis 1862 auf dem griechischen Thron. Heute dominiert hier das moderne Lebensgefühl – Sonnenbaden, Kino im Freien und zahlreiche Konzerte prägen in den Sommermonaten das Bild des Platzes.

Wir gehen durch die Torbogen der Propyläen und erkennen rechts, ein wenig im Garten versteckt, das Lenbachhaus.

Das Lenbachhaus beherbergt unter anderem die weltweit größte Sammlung der “Blauen Reiter”. Dieser Künstlergruppe gehörten so bekannte Maler wie Franz Marc, Wassily Kandinsky, August Macke, Paul Klee oder Gabriele Münter an.

Gabriele Münter überließ 1957 an ihrem 80. Geburtstag dem Lenbachhaus 25 eigene Gemälde, 90 Ölbilder ihres Mannes Wassily Kandinsky, etwa 330 seiner Aquarelle und Zeichnungen, seine Skizzenbücher, Hinterglasbilder und Druckgrafiken und zahlreiche Arbeiten auf Papier. Daneben vermachte sie dem Lenbachhaus Werke von August Macke und Marianne von Werefkin.

Neben dieser großartigen Sammlung beherbergt das Lenbachhaus die Sammlung „19. Jahrhundert“. Ursprünglich zeigte die Galerie nämlich hauptsächlich Werke der Münchner Malerei aus dem 19. Jahrhundert und die deutsche Kunst des frühen 20. Jahrhunderts.

Die Sammlung „Neue Sachlichkeit“ widmet sich der Kunst nach dem Ersten Weltkrieg. Bei den Malern in den 20er und 30er Jahren überwiegt im Gegensatz zum vorausgegangenen Expressionismus, die nüchterne und realistische Darstellung.

[read more=”weiter lesen” less=”weniger lesen”]

Wir gehen geradeaus weiter bis zur Gabelsbergerstrasse, in die wir rechts einbiegen. Wir überqueren noch die Arcísstrasse und sehen den Neubau des Staatlichen Museums ägyptischer Kunst.

Auf 1.800 Quadratmetern sind hier Exponate aus annähernd 5.000 Jahren ägyptischer Geschichte ausgestellt. Das Museum teilt sich das moderne Gebäude mit der Hochschule für Film und Fernsehen.

Die Ausstellung, die sich aus konservatorischen Gründen im Untergeschoß befindet, ist in zwei Hauptbereiche gegliedert. Die erste widmet sich ägyptischen Skulpturen und stellt ähnliche Exponate unabhängig von ihrer Entstehungszeit nebeneinander aus. Am meisten beeindruckte mich der 5,80 m hohe  Obelisk des Titus Sextius Africanus.

Der zweite Teil der Sammlung widmet sich den Themen Jenseitsglaube, Religion, Schrift und Text, Kunsthandwerk und endet mit Kunst benachbarter Regionen, Nubien und dem Alten Orient.

Auf der anderen Strassenseite seht ihr die Neue Pinakothek.

Hier finden wir fast 400 Werke europäischer Kunst aus dem späten 18., dem gesamten 19. und dem Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts. Damit spannt die Sammlung einen Bogen von der Aufklärung bis hin zur Moderne. Die berühmtesten Exponate sind sicherlich Van Goghs Sonnenblumen, Spitzwegs Armer Poet, der Triumphzug des Germanicus mit beeindruckender 35 qm großen Leinwandfläche und nicht zu vergessen Ludwig der 1. in vollem Ornat.


Um zur alten Pinakothek zu gelangen, gehen wir nochmal ein Stück zurück zur Arcisstrasse, in die wir nach rechts einbiegen.  Nach ein paar Metern kommen wir am Haupteingang der Technischen Universität München vorbei. Hier lohnt unbedingt ein Abstecher ins Café Vorhoelzer. Einfach ins Universitätsgebäude hinein, der Beschilderung Forum folgen und mit dem Aufzug in die oberste Etage fahren. Das Café Vorhoelzer beeindruckt mit seiner großen Terrasse, die uns einen traumhaften Blick über die Dächer Münchens – und bei schönem Wetter bis hin zu den Alpen gewährt. Das Café ist zwar längst kein Geheimtipp mehr, aber die internationale Mischung aus Studenten und Touristen hat ihren ganz eigenen Charme entwickelt.

Doch zurück zur alten Pinakothek. Sie ist eine der bedeutendsten Gemäldegalerien der Welt und zeigt uns mehr als 700 bedeutende Werke europäischer Malerei vom 14. bis zum 18. Jahrhundert. Hier finden wir Gemälde von Dürer, Rembrandt, Altdorfer. Boticelli, da Vinci, Rubens, Tizian und Raffael.

Zwischen der Alten und der neuen Pinakothek gehen wir zurück bis zur Barerstrasse. Nur ein paar Meter nach links und uns fällt schon die Pinakothek der Moderne ins Auge.

Sie gehört zu Münchens größten Attraktionen und zählt mit ihren 4 Museen und 12.000 qm Ausstellungsfläche zu den berühmtesten Ausstellungshäusern der Welt.
Schon das Gebäude lohnt für sich genommen einen Besuch. Im Eingang beeindruckt die Rotunde mit einer Glaskuppel in 25 m Höhe. Von hier aus verteilen sich die Rundgänge in die vier Museen, im einzelnen

Die Bayrische Staatsgemäldesammlung
Die Neue Sammlung des Münchner Designmuseums
Das Architekturmuseum der technischen Universität München
und
Die Staatliche Graphische Sammlung

Wir spazieren weiter über den Vorplatz der Pinakothek in Richtung Türkenstrasse. Am Ende des Platzes sehen wir zu unserer linken das beeindruckende Gebäude des Museum Brandhorst und direkt vor uns das Türkentor.

Hier finden wir eine sehenswerte Skulptur des amerikanischen Künstlers Walter De Maria. Die 25 Tonnen schwere rot-glänzende Granitkugel „Large Red Sphere“ gehört der Stiftung Udo und Anette Brandhorst

Das Zusammentreffen der historischen Bausubstanz mit der runden und hochglänzenden Skulptur entfaltet seine ganz eigene Ästhetik. Der Besuch des Türkentores ist übrigens kostenlos.

Schon sind wir an der letzten Station im Kunstareal, dem Museum Brandhorst, angekommen.

Der auffällige bunte Bau beherbergt über 700 Werke zeitgenössischer Künstler wie Cy Twombly, Damien Hirst oder Andy Warhol

Den Schwerpunkt im Museum Brandhorst bilden die Werke des Amerikaners Cy Twombly. Seine Arbeiten prägten den abstrakten Expressionismus. Die umfangreiche Cy Twombly Sammlung, gilt außerhalb der USA als einmalig und am bedeutendsten.
Zusammen mit der Pinakothek der Moderne finden wir hier eine umfassende Sammlung von Künstlern des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts.

Zum Abschluß unserer Tour im Kunstareal tauchen wir noch ein wenig ins Univiertel ein und durchstreifen die Theresienstrasse, Türken-, Amalien- und Schellingstrasse mit ihren zahlreichen Cafés, Restaurants und kleinen Läden.

Am Ende der Schellingstrasse sehen wir die Ludwigskirche und die U-Bahnstation „Universität“.
[/read]

Essen und Trinken im Uni- und Museumsviertel
Köche

Meine Favoriten

  • Hans im Glück
    einer der besten Burger-Läden der Stadt

    ___________________________________________

  • Die Cafés in den Museen sind ausnahmslos zu empfehlen,
    meist mit schöner Terrasse und angenehmem Ambiente

    ___________________________________________

  • Café Vorhoelzer
    Im Gebäude der technischen Universität.
    Mit dem Aufzug hoch aufs Dach. Nicht ganz leicht zu finden,
    aber die Aussicht auf der Dachterrasse ist es allemal wert.

    ___________________________________________

  • Café Puck
    Ein beliebter Treffpunkt in der Türkenstrasse.
    Super Frühstück. Sonntags unbedingt reservieren.

    ___________________________________________

  • Ballabeni Eiscrème
    Wer Lust auf das beste Eis der Stadt hat, kommt an Ballabeni nicht vorbei.
    Ihr erkennt den kleinen Eiskiosk an der langen Schlange vor der Tür.

    ___________________________________________

  • Max-Emanuel Brauerei
    eine grüne Oase in der Maxvorstadt

Map der Sehenswürdigkeiten

Um eine individuelle Route zu ermitteln, klicke auf Dein Ziel

Weitere Routenvorschläge aus der Kategorie München zu Fuß

Museum München - Königsplatz
Eisbach englischer Garten 2
Tierpark Hellabrunn
geschwister-scholl-platz-Platz München zu Fuß

Ich freue mich auf Eure Kommentare

0 Kommentare

Dein Kommentar

An Diskussion beteiligen?
Hinterlasse uns Deinen Kommentar!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.

Klicke hier, um Ihren eigenen Text einzufügen